Blog Archives

A Landmark Prize in Economics

Posted in Climate, Contemporary economics Tagged with: , ,

The Nobel committee likes to couple special prizes with anniversaries. Thus Milton Friedman received a medal in 1976, the two hundredth anniversary of the appearance of An Inquiry into the Nature and Causes of the Wealth of Nations, by Adam Smith, the book considered to have given birth to modern economics. The first award in game theory, to John Nash, John Harsanyi, and Reinhard Selten, came in 1994, fifty years after the publication of The Theory of Games and Economic Behavior, by Oskar Morgenstern and John von Neumann. And on the hundredth anniversary of the very first Nobel prizes, in 2001, the committee